Sheriff Overview
 Neil Gross,

The County's principal peace officer is the Shelby County Sheriff, who is elected every four years. The Sheriff and the Deputies are the law enforcement for the residents of Shelby County, plus provide contract law enforcement for the Cities of Defiance, Earling, Elk Horn, Irwin, Kirkman, Panama, Portsmouth, Shelby, Tennant, and Westphalia, based on a per capita charge.

The IowaVINE system is a service through which victims of crime can use the telephone or internet to search for information regarding the custody status of their offender and to register to receive telephone and email notification when the offender's custody status changes. The toll-free number for IowaVINE is 888-7-IAVINE or 888-742-8463. This service is provided to assist victims of crime who have a right to know about their offender's custody status.

Sheriff's Department staff includes:

Neil Gross - Sheriff

Donavon Dontje - Sergeant

Cody Eckles - Sergeant

Michael Jurgensen - Deputy

Glenn Birks - Deputy

Chad Butler - Deputy

Kelly Lefeber - Deputy

Braden Quist - Deputy

Nathan Pigsley - Deputy

Karla Kramer - Administrative Assistant 


Shelby County's Jail staff includes:

Kyle Lindberg -  Jail Administrator 

Nancy Pigsley - Jailer

Andrew Bierl - Jailer

Jim Fleshman - Jailer

Michelle Eckermann - Jailer

Cody Hansen - Jailer

Megan Jensen - Jailer